Sultana Cake

6 Aug

This is one of my favourite cakes.  It is full of sultanas and I love the almond flavour. I just made this cake to take around to my good friends in Singapore who have just had their second child.  I hope they like it as much as I do!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sultanas
  • 250g butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp almond essence
  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Oven: Turn oven to 160.c

Method:

Place sultanas in a saucepan and cover with water.  Bring to the boil then simmer for 15 mins.  This will make them nice and plump and juicy.  Drain thoroughly.  Add butter.  In a bowl beat sugar into eggs until well combined. Add sultana mixture and almond essence.  Sift flour and baking powder together.  Mix sifted ingredients into fruit mixture.  Use a spatular to place the mixture into a cake tin that has been covered with non-stick spray.

Bake for 1 1/4 hours.  After 1 hour use a skewer to check if it is cooked. If the skewer comes out clean it is done.

Comment:

This cake is full of fruit and flavour.  I have made it numerous times and it is always a hit with friends and family.  Next time I may experiment by using a bit of ground almond in with the flour because I just love the almond flavour.

Adapted from: Edmonds Cookery Book

Leave a Reply

